
State of Minnesota District Court
County of Blue Earth 5th Judicial District

BEC-16-1597Prosecutor File No.
07-CR-16-3903Court File No.

State of Minnesota, COMPLAINT

Plaintiff, Order of Detention

vs.

MARYAN ABDI HURSHE    DOB: 11/14/1995

2108 York Street
St. Peter, MN 56082

Defendant.

The Complainant submits this complaint to the Court and states that there is probable cause to believe
Defendant committed the following offense(s):

COUNT I

Charge: Theft-Take/Drive Motor Vehicle-No Owner Consent
Minnesota Statute: 609.52.2(a)(17), with reference to:  609.52.3(3)(d)(v)
Maximum Sentence: 10 years and/or $20,000
Offense Level: Felony

Offense Date (on or about): 10/01/2016

Control #(ICR#): 16029611

Charge Description: Maryan Abdi Hurshe

On or about October 1, 2016, in the County of Blue Earth, said Defendant, Maryan Abdi Hurshe did take
or drive a motor vehicle without the consent of the owner or an authorized agent of the owner, knowing or
having reason to know that the owner or an authorized agent of the owner did not give consent.

COUNT II

Charge: Traffic - DWI - Operate Motor Vehicle Under Influence of Alcohol
Minnesota Statute: 169A.20.1(1), with reference to:  169A.27.2
Maximum Sentence: 90 days and/or $1,000
Offense Level: Misdemeanor

Offense Date (on or about): 10/01/2016

Control #(ICR#): 16029611

Charge Description: Maryan Abdi Hurshe

On or about October 1, 2016, in the County of Blue Earth, said Defendant, Maryan Abdi Hurshe did, drive,
operate, or was in physical control of any motor vehicle when he/she was under the influence of alcohol.

1



COUNT III

Charge: Traffic - DWI - Operate Motor Vehicle - Alcohol Concentration 0.08 Within 2 Hours
Minnesota Statute: 169A.20.1(5), with reference to:  169A.27.2
Maximum Sentence: 90 days and/or $1,000
Offense Level: Misdemeanor

Offense Date (on or about): 10/01/2016

Control #(ICR#): 16029611

Charge Description: Maryan Abdi Hurshe

On or about October 1, 2016, in the County of Blue Earth, said Defendant, Maryan Abdi Hurshe did, drive,
operate, or was in physical control of any motor vehicle, when his/her alcohol concentration at the time, or
as measured within two hours of the time, of driving, operating or being in physical control of the motor
vehicle was 0.08 or more.

COUNT IV

Charge: Traffic Collision - Collision with Unattended Vehicle - Notify Victim or Police
Minnesota Statute: 169.09.4, with reference to:  169.09.14(c)
Maximum Sentence: 90 days and/or $1,000
Offense Level: Misdemeanor

Offense Date (on or about): 10/01/2016

Control #(ICR#): 16029611

Charge Description: Maryan Abdi Hurshe

On or about October 1, 2016, in the County of Blue Earth, said Defendant, Maryan Abdi Hurshe did
collide with and damage a vehicle which was unattended and failed to immediately stop and either locate
and notify the driver or owner of the vehicle of the name and address of the driver and owner of the
vehicle striking the unattended vehicle, or report the same to a peace officer, or leave in a conspicuous
place in or secured to the vehicle struck a written notice giving the name and address of the driver and
owner of the vehicle doing the striking.

COUNT V

Charge: Liquor-Consumption by persons under 21
Minnesota Statute: 340A.503.1(a)(2), with reference to:  340A.703
Maximum Sentence: 90 days and/or $1,000
Offense Level: Misdemeanor

Offense Date (on or about): 10/01/2016

Control #(ICR#): 16029611

Charge Description: Maryan Abdi Hurshe

On or about October 1, 2016, in the County of Blue Earth, said Defendant, Maryan Abdi Hurshe did, while
under the age of 21 years, consume an alcoholic beverage.

COUNT VI

Charge: Traffic - Underage drinking and driving; Crime described
Minnesota Statute: 169A.33.2, with reference to:  169A.33.3
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Maximum Sentence: 90 days and/or $1,000
Offense Level: Misdemeanor

Offense Date (on or about): 10/01/2016

Control #(ICR#): 16029611

Charge Description: Maryan Abdi Hurshe

On or about October 1, 2016, in the County of Blue Earth, said Defendant, Maryan Abdi Hurshe did, while
under the age of 21 years, drive, operate, or was in physical control of a motor vehicle while consuming
alcoholic beverages, or after having consumed alcoholic beverages while there is physical evidence of
the consumption present in the person's body.

COUNT VII

Charge: Drivers License-Driving Without a Valid License or Vehicle Class/Type; Multiple Licenses
Prohibited
Minnesota Statute: 171.02.1
Maximum Sentence: 90 days and/or $1,000
Offense Level: Misdemeanor

Offense Date (on or about): 10/01/2016

Control #(ICR#): 16029611

Charge Description: Maryan Abdi Hurshe

On or about October 1, 2016 in the County of Blue Earth, said Defendant, Maryan Abdi Hurshe did drive a
motor vehicle upon a street or highway in this state without a valid driver's license.
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STATEMENT OF PROBABLE CAUSE

 

On October 1, 2016, at approximately 6:27 a.m., Officer Mohamed Mohamed of the Mankato Department
of Public Safety was dispatched to a location in Mankato, Blue Earth County, on the report of a hit-and-run.
Officer Mohamed spoke to Victim 1 who stated that he heard a crash outside of his residence. He then
came out and saw a vehicle bearing Minnesota license plate 009 UWW hitting his truck and his van and
then taking off. Victim 1 stated that the vehicle that hit his truck and van was severely damaged and should
not be able to get far from the scene. Officer Mohamed then left the scene in an attempt to locate the
vehicle. 

While driving in the area, Officer Mohamed found the suspected vehicle at the River Bluff Apartments,
upper lot, in Mankato, Blue Earth County. Officer Mohamed made contact with Maryan Abdi Hurshe, D.O.B.
11/14/95; Reem Ibrahim; and Mahdi Ahmed. All three individuals were inside the vehicle at the time the
crash occurred. Ibrahim and Ahmed informed Officer Mohamed that Hurshe was the person driving the
vehicle when the accident took place. 

Officer Mohamed then spoke to Hurshe who stated that she drove the vehicle at the time of the crash and
that she had been drinking alcoholic beverages. Officer Mohamed could smell a strong odor of alcohol
coming from her mouth. He also observed that her eyes were bloodshot and her speech was slurred.
Hurshe then performed poorly on field sobriety tests. Officer Mohamed administered a preliminary breath
test, which resulted in a reported value of 0.136. 

While processing the vehicle, Officer Mohamed asked that Dispatch send a teletype to the Minneapolis
Police Department to make contact with the registered owner of the vehicle Hurshe was driving at the time
of the accident. Officer Mohamed received a call from the registered owner of the vehicle who stated that
he had reported his vehicle stolen about two weeks ago. The registered owner stated that he reported the
stolen vehicle to the Minneapolis Police Department. 

Officer Mohamed contacted the Minneapolis Police Department and spoke to an officer who stated that
the vehicle being driven by Hurshe was involved in an aggravated robbery in the city. The officer stated that
they did not have the vehicle entered as a stolen vehicle at that time. Officer Mohamed inform the officer
that he had spoken to the registered owner who stated that he had reported the vehicle stolen
approximately two weeks ago. 

Officer Mohamed spoke to Hurshe about the stolen vehicle. Hurshe said that she got the vehicle from
Ahmed. Ahmed denied knowing or taking the vehicle in question without the owner's permission. 

Hurshe was read the Implied Consent Advisory at 8:21 a.m. Hurshe stated that she understood what was
read to her and agreed to take a breath test. Hurshe provided a breath sample at 8:49 a.m. that registered
at 0.11 alcohol content. 

Hurshe did not attempt to make contact with the owner of the vehicle that she hit. 

A record check revealed that Hurshe does not currently have a valid Minnesota driver's license.
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SIGNATURES AND APPROVALS

Complainant requests that Defendant, subject to bail or conditions of release, be:
(1) arrested or that other lawful steps be taken to obtain Defendant's appearance in court; or
(2) detained, if already in custody, pending further proceedings; and that said Defendant otherwise
be dealt with according to law.

Complainant declares under penalty of perjury that everything stated in this document is true and
correct. Minn. Stat. § 358.116; Minn. R. Crim. P. 2.01, subds. 1, 2.

Complainant Daniel Schisel Electronically Signed:
10/03/2016 04:25 PM
Blue Earth County,  Minnesota

Police Commander
710 S Front St
Mankato, MN 56001-3803
Badge: 3135

Being authorized to prosecute the offenses charged, I approve this complaint.

Prosecuting Attorney Electronically Signed:
10/03/2016 03:49 PM

Steven Kelm
401 Carver Road
PO Box 3129
Mankato, MN 56002
(507) 304-4600
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FINDING OF PROBABLE CAUSE
From the above sworn facts, and any supporting affidavits or supplemental sworn testimony, I, the Issuing Officer, have

determined that probable cause exists to support, subject to bail or conditions of release where applicable, Defendant’s arrest

or other lawful steps be taken to obtain Defendant’s appearance in court, or Defendant’s detention, if already in custody,

pending further proceedings. Defendant is therefore charged with the above-stated offense(s).

SUMMONS

THEREFORE YOU, THE DEFENDANT, ARE SUMMONED to appear on ________ ___, _____ at _____ AM/PM
before the above-named court at 401 Carver Rd, Mankato, MN 56002-0347 to answer this complaint.

IF YOU FAIL TO APPEAR in response to this SUMMONS, a WARRANT FOR YOUR ARREST shall be issued.

WARRANT

To the Sheriff of the above-named county; or other person authorized to execute this warrant: I order, in the name of the State

of Minnesota, that the Defendant be apprehended and arrested without delay and brought promptly before the court (if in

session), and if not, before a Judge or Judicial Officer of such court without unnecessary delay, and in any event not later than

36 hours after the arrest or as soon as such Judge or Judicial Officer is available to be dealt with according to law.

Execute in MN Only Execute Nationwide Execute in Border States

ORDER OF DETENTIONX
Since the Defendant is already in custody, I order, subject to bail or conditions of release, that the Defendant continue to be
detained pending further proceedings.

Bail:  $
Conditions of Release:  

This complaint, duly subscribed and sworn to or signed under penalty of perjury, is issued by the undersigned Judicial Officer
as of the following date: October 3, 2016.

Judicial Officer Krista J Jass
Judge of District Court

Electronically Signed: 10/03/2016 04:46 PM

Sworn testimony has been given before the Judicial Officer by the following witnesses:
 

COUNTY OF BLUE EARTH
STATE OF MINNESOTA

State of Minnesota
Plaintiff

vs.

MARYAN ABDI HURSHE
Defendant

LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER RETURN OF SERVICE
I hereby Certify and Return that I have served a copy of this Order of

Detention upon the Defendant herein named.

Signature of Authorized Service Agent:
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